2024 Kansas City Mavericks vs Florida Everblades

Florida Everblades Make ECHL History With Third Straight Kelly Cup Title

Florida Everblades Make ECHL History With Third Straight Kelly Cup Title

The Florida Everblades stormed back from a 3-1 deficit in Game 5 to win 4-3 in overtime to complete their historic run to a third-straight Kelly Cup.

Jun 9, 2024 by Chris Peters

The Florida Everblades have made history. With a stunning 4-3 overtime win in Game 5 of the Kelly Cup Finals, Florida won its third straight Kelly Cup, becoming the first team to ever win three consecutive titles in ECHL history.

Matt Wedman scored 3:38 into the extra frame with a quick shot that will go down as one of the most historic goals in ECHL history.

The Everblades had to rally from a 3-1 deficit heading into the third period to push the game to extra time. Despite pouring 18 shots on goal, Florida didn’t find the equalizer until there was just 1:47 on the clock in regulation when a puck took a bad hop off of Kansas City Mavericks goalie Jack LaFontaine then off of Florida forward Mark Senden and in for his second goal of the period.

The Mavericks, which won the Brabham Cup as regular-season champions in the ECHL, appeared to be in control of Game 5, not wanting their own historic season to end. They held a 28-18 shot advantage and 3-1 lead with just 20 minutes to go before being able to send the series back to KC.

As has been the case so often over the last three postseasons, however, the Everblades found a way to scratch and claw their way back to a win.

Goaltender Cam Johnson, in front of the largest crowd in Everblades history, backstopped his team for the third straight season to the title. He did it with 29 saves in Game 5, while facing an onslaught over the first two periods.

Johnson, who was the MVP of the previous two championship runs, sometimes got upstaged by his team’s impeccable scoring attack. Leading that scoring attack, was Oliver Chau, who had 23 points in the postseason to lead all players. He was part of last year’s title win as well.

The Everblades have now won an ECHL record 12 consecutive playoff series to complete their hat trick of Kelly Cups.

Florida head coach Brad Ralph also earned a share of ECHL history with John Brophy, joining the legendary coach as only the second bench boss to win three ECHL championships. Ralph is the only coach to do so in consecutive years. 

In addition to the three-peat, the Everblades became the first team in ECHL history to reach four total postseason championships in the league. Florida had also won the Kelly Cup in 2012 before its run in 2022, 2023 and 2024.

Kelly Cup Finals Results

Kansas City Mavericks (66-15-6) Vs. Florida Everblades (52-22-9)

Game 1 – Florida 8, Kansas City 1
Game 2 – Kansas City 5, Florida 1
Game 3 – Florida 6, Kansas City 3
Game 4 – Florida 4, Kansas City 1
Game 5 – Florida 4, Kansas City 3 (OT)

Watch ECHL, USHL And More On FloHockey

FloHockey is the streaming home to some of the best hockey leagues in North America, including the ECHL and more. Check out the broadcast schedule to watch more hockey.

Join The Hockey Conversation On FloHockey Social