United States Hockey League (USHL)

Chicago Steel's Macklin Celebrini Is USHL Player Of The Year

Chicago Steel's Macklin Celebrini Is USHL Player Of The Year

Top 2024 NHL Draft prospect Macklin Celebrini completed a clean sweep of USHL awards, winning Rookie, Forward and Player of the Year honors.

May 5, 2023 by Chris Peters
Meet 16-Year-Old Sensation Macklin Celebrini

Macklin Celebrini completed a very rare sweep of USHL postseason awards Friday. After being named Rookie of the Year and Forward of the Year on previous days, the USHL announced that the Chicago Steel forward was the league’s Player of the Year.

The 16-year-old from Vancouver, B.C., is only the third player in USHL history win both the rookie of the year and player of the year in the same season. The last player to do it was Steve MacSwain of the Dubuque Fighting Saints in 1983. Mike Carlson of Dubuque also did it in 1981.

As a result, Celebrini is the first player to complete such a sweep in the USHL’s Tier 1 era, which began in 2001. 

Celebrini produced at an astonishing rate this season, scoring 86 points with 46 goals and 40 assists. His goals and point totals were both records for a U17 player in the USHL. 

Committed to attend Boston University next fall, where he’ll likely be the youngest player in college hockey, Celebrini has made the most of his one USHL season. 

He led the league in scoring and propelled the Steel to the top seed in the Eastern Conference. After playing for Canada at the World Men’s Under-18 Championship last week, Celebrini has returned to join his Steel teammates in their Eastern Conference final series against the Youngstown Phantoms.

Celebrini is the odds on favorite to go first overall in the 2024 NHL Draft. After the season he just had, it only seems to has solidified his status. Given the player's age, Celebrini's season should go down as one of the all-time great individual performances in the history of the USHL. 

Here's a look at the other players and team staff that the league honored for the 2022-23 season.

USHL Award Winners

Defenseman of the Year: Eric Pohlkamp, Cedar Rapids RoughRiders

Goaltender of the Year: Jacob Fowler, Youngstown Phantoms

Coach of the Year: Nick Oliver, Fargo Force

GM of the Year: Bryn Chyzyk, Waterloo Black Hawks

All-USHL First Team

Macklin Celebrini, Chicago Steel

Cole Knuble, Fargo Force

Ryan Walsh, Cedar Rapids RoughRiders

Eric Pohlkamp, Cedar Rapids RoughRiders

Joe Palodichuk, Fargo Force

Jacob Fowler, Youngstown Phantoms

All-USHL Second Team

Jack Harvey, Chicago Steel

Ryan St. Louis, Dubuque Fighting Saints

Mason Marcellus, Lincoln Stars

Max Burkholder, Dubuque Fighting Saints

Aaron Pionk, Waterloo Black Hawks

Matej Marinov, Fargo Force

All-USHL Third Team

Ryan Conmy, Sioux City Musketeers

Garrett Schifsky, Waterloo Black Hawks

Nick Moldenhauer, Chicago Steel

Artyon Levshunov, Green Bay Gamblers

Boston Buckberger, Lincoln Stars

Cameron Whitehead, Lincoln Stars 

USHL All-Rookie First Team

Mack Celebrini, Chicago Steel

Mac Swanson, Fargo Force

Ryan Conmy, Sioux City Musketeers

Artyom Levshunov, Green Bay Gamblers

Will Felicio, Madison Capitols

Michael Hrabal, Omaha Lancers

USHL All-Rookie Second Team

Sacha Boisvert, Muskegon Lumberjacks

Trevor Connelly, Tri-City Storm

William Whitelaw, Youngstown Phantoms

Ty Hanson, Sioux City Musketeers

Michael Hagens, Chicago Steel